

NEWS RELEASE

Issued by the Telephone 02920 395031
Boundary Commission for Wales
Caradog House Fax 02920 395250
1-6 St Andrews Place
Cardiff
CF10 3BE Date November 2010

FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE AREAS COMPRISED IN THE CONSTITUENCIES OF BRECON AND RADNORSHIRE, AND MERTHYR AND RHYMNEY

The Commission propose to make no change to their provisional recommendations for the constituencies of Brecon and Radnorshire, and Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney.

1. We issued our provisional recommendations on 1 June 2010 and published notification of these in local newspapers, in the English and Welsh languages, circulating in the constituencies affected, inviting representations to be made within the statutory period of one calendar month. Copies of these recommendations, with illustrative maps, were made available for public inspection at convenient places within the constituencies and on the Commission's web site.

Representations received

- 2. 1 representation (at i below) were received in respect of our provisional recommendations during the statutory one month period:
 - i. Powys County Council endorsed the recommendation.
- 3. The Commission noted that, having received no representation of the kind mentioned in section 6 (2) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, there was no statutory requirement to hold a local inquiry. The Commission further decided that in all the circumstances they would not exercise their discretion under section 6 (1) to hold an inquiry.

Final recommendations

- 4. Having carefully considered all the representations made in response to their provisional recommendations, the Commission were satisfied that those recommendations were the best way of giving effect to the Rules. Accordingly the Commission have confirmed their provisional recommendations, i.e.:
 - i. the boundary between Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney County Constituency and Brecon and Radnorshire County Constituency to be altered to conform with the county boundary between the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil and the County of Powys as changed by the Merthyr Tydfil and Powys (Pontsticill) Order 2009; and
 - ii. the boundary between the South Wales East Assembly electoral region and the Mid and West Wales Assembly electoral region to be altered so as to conform to

the change recommended at i. above and the Preserved Counties of Powys and Mid Glamorgan (Changes in Area) Order 2010.

5. The Commission's Final Recommendations, which will be included in their report to be submitted to the Secretary of State, are for two constituencies as follows (the 2009 electorates are shown in brackets):

BRECON AND RADNORSHIRE COUNTY CONSTITUENCY (53,354) Powys County electoral divisions: Aber-craf, Beguildy, Bronllys, Builth, Bwlch, Crickhowell, Cwm-twrch, Disserth and Trecoed, Felin-fâch, Glasbury, Gwernyfed, Hay, Knighton, Llanafanfawr, Llanbadarn Fawr, Llandrindod East/Llandrindod West, Llandrindod North, Llandrindod South, Llanelwedd, Llangattock, Llangors, Llangunllo, Llangynidr, Llanwrtyd Wells, Llanyre, Maescar/Llywel, Nantmel, Old Radnor, Presteigne, Rhayader, St.David Within, St.John, St.Mary, Talgarth, Talybonton-Usk, Tawe-Uchaf, Ynyscedwyn, Yscir, Ystradgynlais.

MERTHYR TYDFIL AND RHYMNEY COUNTY CONSTITUENCY (52,708) Merthyr Tydfil County electoral divisions: Bedlinog, Cyfarthfa, Dowlais, Gurnos, Merthyr Vale, Park, Penydarren, Plymouth, Town, Treharris and Vaynor. Caerphilly County electoral divisions: Darren Valley, Moriah, New Tredegar, Pontlottyn and Twyn Carno.

Representations

6. In accordance with section 5 of the 1986 Act the Commission are not entitled to consider any further representations in relation to these recommendations.

Implementation of the recommendations

7. The Commission will submit a report to the Secretary of State who then has a statutory duty to lay the Commission's report before Parliament together with a draft Order in Council giving effect to the Commission's recommendations with or without modifications. If modifications are proposed, the Secretary of State must also lay a statement of reasons for the modifications. The draft Order in Council is submitted to both Houses of Parliament for approval and, after it is made by Her Majesty in Council, it cannot be called into question in any legal proceedings. The new constituencies take effect at the next general election following the making of the Order in Council.

Enquiries

8. For further information please contact: The Boundary Commission for Wales, Caradog House, 1 – 6 St. Andrews Place, Cardiff, CF10 3BE.

Telephone 029 2039 5031 Fax 029 2039 5250

Email bcomm.wales@wales.gsi.gov.uk Web Site: www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk