

# **NEWS RELEASE**

Issued by the
Boundary Commission for Wales
Caradog House
1-6 St Andrews Place
Cardiff
CF10 3BE

Telephone 02920 395031

Fax 02920 395250

rax 02920 393230

Date 31 March 2011

# FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE AREAS COMPRISED IN THE CONSTITUENCIES OF CARDIFF SOUTH AND PENARTH AND VALE OF GLAMORGAN

The Commission propose to make no change to their provisional recommendations for the constituencies of Cardiff South and Penarth and Vale of Glamorgan.

1. We issued our provisional recommendations on 4 January 2011 and published notification of these in local newspapers, in the English and Welsh languages, circulating in the constituencies affected, inviting representations to be made within the statutory period of one calendar month. Copies of these recommendations, with illustrative maps, were made available for public inspection at convenient places within the constituencies and on the Commission's web site.

#### Representations received

- 2. No representations were received in respect of our provisional recommendations during the statutory one month period:
- 3. The Commission noted that, having received no representation of the kind mentioned in section 6 (2) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, there was no statutory requirement to hold a local inquiry. The Commission further decided that in all the circumstances they would not exercise their discretion under section 6 (1) to hold an inquiry.

#### **Final recommendations**

- 4. Having carefully considered all the representations made in response to their provisional recommendations, the Commission were satisfied that those recommendations were the best way of giving effect to the Rules. Accordingly the Commission have confirmed their provisional recommendations, i.e.:
  - i. the boundary between Cardiff South and Penarth Borough Constituency and the Vale of Glamorgan County Constituency to be altered to conform with the local government boundary within the County Borough of The Vale of Glamorgan as changed by the Vale of Glamorgan (Communities) Order 2010.

5. The Commission's Final Recommendations, which will be included in their report to be submitted to the Secretary of State, are for two constituencies as follows (the 2010 electorates are shown in brackets):

CARDIFF SOUTH AND PENARTH BOROUGH CONSTITUENCY (75,898) Cardiff County electoral divisions: Butetown, Grangetown, Llanrumney, Rumney, Splott, and Trowbridge. The Vale of Glamorgan County electoral divisions: Cornerswell, Llandough, Plymouth, St. Augustine's, Stanwell and Sully.

VALE OF GLAMORGAN COUNTY CONSTITUENCY (71,550) The Vale of Glamorgan County electoral divisions: Baruc, Buttrills, Cadoc, Castleland, Court, Cowbridge, Dinas Powys, Dyfan, Gibbonsdown, Illtyd, Llandow/Ewenny, Llantwit Major, Petersotn-super-Ely, Rhoose, St. Athan, St.Bride's Major and Wenvoe.

## Representations

6. In accordance with section 5 of the 1986 Act the Commission are not entitled to consider any further representations in relation to these recommendations.

# Implementation of the recommendations

7. The Commission will submit a report to the Secretary of State who then has a statutory duty to lay the Commission's report before Parliament together with a draft Order in Council giving effect to the Commission's recommendations with or without modifications. If modifications are proposed, the Secretary of State must also lay a statement of reasons for the modifications. The draft Order in Council is submitted to both Houses of Parliament for approval and, after it is made by Her Majesty in Council, it cannot be called into question in any legal proceedings. The new constituencies take effect at the next general election following the making of the Order in Council.

## **Enquiries**

8. For further information please contact: The Boundary Commission for Wales, Caradog House, 1 – 6 St. Andrews Place, Cardiff, CF10 3BE.

Telephone: 029 2039 5031 Fax: 029 2039 5250

Email: bcomm.wales@wales.gsi.gov.uk

Web Site: www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk