

REPRESENTATIONS MADE IN RESPECT OF PROVISIONAL RECOMMENDATIONS FOR THE PRESERVED COUNTY OF CLWYD

Summary of Representations

May 2004

The Commission welcome correspondence and telephone calls either in English or Welsh.

Summary of the Representations made in respect of the Commission's provisional recommendations for the Preserved County of Clwyd issued on 5th January 2004

APPROVAL

1	The Welsh Conservative Party	Supports proposals for Clwyd.
2	Welsh Labour	Fully supports provisional recommendations in all aspects.
3	Welsh Liberal Democrats	Supports proposals in respect of Clwyd.
4	Conwy Conservatives	Supports proposals to allocate seven constituencies to Clwyd. Changes to Conwy are sensible but alternative is suggested which could be used if the disparity in the Preserved County needed to be reduced.
5	Vale of Clwyd Constituency Labour Party	The Vale of Clwyd Constituency Labour Party approves the proposals for the Vale of Clwyd constituency.
6	Mr David Hanson MP	Fully approves the recommendations relating to Alun & Deeside.
7	Mr Martyn Jones MP	Approves proposals generally and in particular those for Clwyd South as they are sensible and allow for future growth.
8	Mr Ian Lucas MP	Mr Lucas supports the proposals for Wrexham.
9	Mr Chris Ruane MP	Agrees with the proposals for the Vale of Clwyd and all other proposals for North Wales.
10	Ms Ann Jones AM	Broadly content with proposals for the preserved county of Clwyd and for the Vale of Clwyd constituency in particular.
11	Ms Sandy Mewies AM	Content with provisional recommendations as they relate to Delyn.
12	Ms Karen Sinclair AM	Supports proposals for Clwyd South.
13	Cllr. Donald Holder	Has submitted recommendation that Denbighshire County Council abide exactly as quoted within the "Boundary Commission for Wales Provisional Recommendations 2004".
14	Cllr. H Eifion Jones	Supports the new Conwy seat.
15	Cllr. Glyn Williams	The Labour Group on Denbighshire County Council agree with the recommendations for the Vale of Clwyd.
16	Commander D J Beesley KT Royal Navy	Supports proposals without reservation in respect of Conwy.
17	Mr M Z de Ferranti	Mr de Ferranti approves the proposals for Conwy.

18	Mrs Anne Roberts	Supports proposals for Conwy. Thinks inclusion of both sides of the Conwy valley is sensible as is the creation of Arfon as the areas involved have more in common than Bangor has with Llandudno.		
19	Mr Neville Yates	Fully agrees with the proposals for Conwy.		
OBJECTION				
20	Mrs Betty Williams MP	Believes that Clwyd and Gwynedd should be considered together to achieve best electoral parity between constituencies.		
21	Mr D Fox	Would prefer to see one Conwy and one Denbigh constituency, but provides alternatives. Suggests Flintshire and Wrexham have four constituencies: Flint, Mold, Caergwrle and Wrexham.		

PART APPROVAL/PART OBJECTION

PART APPROVAL/PART OBJECTION				
22	Denbighshire County	Denbighshire County Council approves the proposals for the three constituencies in Clwyd but objects to their names preferring to see a single, bilingual name. It also objects to the makeup of the North Wales electoral region.		
23	Conwy County Borough Council	Proposed geographic changes to the Conwy area are generally supported but has an alternative proposal if the disparity of the electorate within Conwy needs to be reduced. Objects to names for Conwy and Clwyd West constituencies.		
24	Llandudno Town Council	Supports proposals for Conwy but objects to name as it is already used for a County and a Community and could be misleading. Prefers 'Aberconwy' for historical and logical reasons.		
25	Aberconwy Branch Labour Party	Aberconwy Branch Labour Party approves the proposals for Conwy but objects to the name of the constituency. It prefers 'Aberconwy' in order to differentiate it from the County.		
26	Conwy Constituency Labour Party	Conwy Constituency Labour Party approves the proposals for North & Mid Wales but objects to the name 'Conwy' preferring 'Aberconwy' to avoid confusion.		
27	Cllr. Phillip C Evans	Suggests that Clwyd West CC be renamed Clwyd Central CC and rename Conwy County Constituency to either Aberconwy CC or Vale of Conwy CC. Supports proposals for geographic and demographic reasons.		
28	Mr R J Davies	Objects only to the name of the proposed Conwy constituency. Suggests Conwy West as an alternative. Clwyd West would then become Conwy East.		

Vale of Clwyd Constituency should be renamed Denbigh, Rhyl & Prestatyn County Constituency or Denbighshire Coastal County Constituency to reflect the nature of the seat.

The main objection to the provisional recommendations is in respect of the names of the proposed constituencies, particularly the Conwy constituency.

> Tŷ Caradog, 1-6 Plas Sant Andreas, Caerdydd CF10 3BE Caradog House, 1-6 St Andrews Place, Cardiff CF10 3BE **(**029) 2039 5031 Fax/Ffacs (029) 2039 5250

e-mail: bcomm.wales@wales.gsi.gov.uk / e-bost : comffin.cymru@wales.gsi.gov.uk Web Site: www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk Gwefan: www.comffin-cymru.gov.uk